Subscribe to 11 Karmic Spaces Kashi on Facebook Ma Jaya on twitter

Karmic Spaces

11 Karmic Spaces

11 Karmic Spaces by Ma Jaya Sati Bhagavati

Karma is the universal law of cause and effect. It manifests in our lives as repetitive thoughts, emotions, and actions that trap us in old patterns. “Karmic Spaces” represent the cycles of the repetition and reinforcement of karma, and the teaching of The 11 Karmic Spaces offers a practical way to choose freedom from the patterns that bind you.

The karmic spaces seem to be places of shelter, seductive in their familiarity, because we are more comfortable where we have walked for many lifetimes—seeking the same path in our hearts, our minds, and in our bones. Sometimes I visualize them as a row of little dark boxes—narrow, yet somehow warm and inviting, like cozy nests. These are the places you climb into because they are so familiar, and their familiarity rests on karmic patterns.

We could count thousands of these traps of the mind, but here they are distilled to eleven. The purpose of naming them is so that you can become more aware when they are at work in your life. Recognize them, take responsibility for them, understand them, and you will take back your free will, your karma, and your life.

The 11 karmic spaces are:

  • Jealousy
  • Anger
  • Pride
  • Indifference
  • Ego of self-thought and self-indulgence
  • Lack of awareness
  • Intent
  • Worldly desire
  • Abuse of power
  • Desire to be right
  • Attachment

Every karmic space seems hopeless when we are mired in it. Just when we think we have found the exit, we discover that we are still entangled in the same old circular pattern of action and reaction.

The karmic spaces can never confine the soul—nothing can—but they can confine the small self that yearns to become one with the universal soul. As you grow in awareness, you be able to give up things you don’t need, one by one, bit by bit—a pattern of anger, an attachment to someone who hurts you, a habit of negativity. What’s left is the soul, and the soul’s joy.

That’s what this teaching really is, an instruction manual to help you find your soul. The path is different for each person, yet the direction is clear.

I invite you to join me on this journey. The teachings and tools on this website will help you follow your own path through the 11 Karmic Spaces.


Ma Jaya